2016 ISA Annual Meeting Schedule

Print the Conference Schedule

8:30 – 9:30 Session 1

“Who Lives Here? The Importance of College and Post-graduate Service.”
– Molly Cook, Illinois State University mcook12@ilstu.edu
– Lindsey Earl, Illinois State University lgearl@ilstu.edu

Round Table Discussion: “Challenges for educators and practitioners working with millennials through a symbolic interactionist perspective.”
– Discussant Leader, Charles Brawner, Heartland Community College chuck.brawner@heartland.edu
9:40-10:40 Session 2

“Thinking Outside the Box: Utilizing UDL Concepts in a SOC 101 Course”
– Janice Malak and Dana Alaniz, Heartland Community College
– janice.malak@heartland.edu or dana.alaniz@heartland.edu

Safe Spaces in Sociology
– Meghan Burke, Illinois Wesleyan University mburke@iwu.edu

“Field Studies and Experiments in Racism, Sexism, and Political Orientation”
– Keith Johnson, Independent Researcher keithjohnson101@gmail.com

10:50 – 11:50 Session 3

“Teaching Sociology”
– Ken Laundra, Millikin Univeristy klaundra@millikin.edu

“Food/Agriculture/Rural Sociology”
– Gene Deerman, Eastern Illinois University medeerman@eiu.edu

“Sociology and Social Justice in the High School”
– Stefen Robinson, Normal Community High School robinsonsj@myunit5.org
– Adam Heenan, Formerly of Chicago Public Schools
11:50 – 12:30 Lunch

12:30 – 1:30 Session 4

“Squashing Certainty: Cultivating Critical Thinking”
– Kimberly Brostrom and Pernevlon Ellis, Kishwaukee College
kimberly.brostrom@kishwaukeecollege.edu or pernevoln.ellis@kishwaukeecollege.edu
“Using Therapeutic Recreation Programs as Service Learning Opportunities Across the Sociology Curriculum.”
– Presenters: Doug Dowell, Heartland Community College
– Maggie Rutenbeck, Director of Special Recreation, City of Bloomington.
– Doug.dowell@heartland.edu
1:40 – 2:40 Session 5

“Are Transfer Students Ready for the Big Leagues?”
– Doug Dowell, Heartland Community College and Gene Deerman, Eastern Illinois University.
– Doug.dowell@heartland.edu or medeerman@eiu.edu

“Teaching Pedagogy”
– Organizer: Bill Stuadenmeier, Eureka College
– wjstauden@eureka.edu

“Immigration”
– Maura Toro-Morn, Illinois State Universtiy mitmorn@ilstu.edu

2:50 – 3:50 Session 6

“Student Showcase in Sociological Studies”
– Cristina Prestin-Latham, Heartland Community College Cristina.Prestin-Latham@heartland.edu

“Teaching Strategies in Sociology”
– Coln Suchland, Lincoln Land Community College colin.suchland@llcc.edu

“Student Research Presentations”
– Eric Zdansky, Illinois State University ewzdans@ilstu.edu

Updated 10/19/2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *